The best way to think about BLDR's permission system is that it grants you access to records and has additional controls that restrict your access to create, read , edit and delete records.

BLDR lets you create custom roles for your organization.  A role provides a mechanism for setting up security and access rights to your content.  Roles also play an important part in customizing the user interface.

BLDR comes with several roles out of the box.  You can also create your own at any time.

This section describes in detail how to create and manage the elements of the administrative structure, how to work with roles and permissions, and demonstrates how to configure access to data.

In BLDR, roles are the predefined set of permissions used to grant controlled access to the system data. After users are assigned a specific role that is typically based on job functions, they can manage information relevant to their job role. This is necessary to protect information, so that users are only given access to information they need to see, and not flooded with information that they do not need. This way, for example, the estimating department can be restricted only to working with projects, the field department can only see and work with safety Meetings and timesheets, while administrators can access all systems globally.

Users can mimic an organization-wide hierarchy in BLDR via the Roles function. Identical designations can be assigned to employees such as Estimator, Safety Manager, etc.

Creating Roles

  1. Click Menu > Administration > Roles

  2. Click the + icon (Add Role) to add a new role

  3. Define privileges for new role

  4. Click Save button.

Assign Roles to Users

This feature enables users to associate roles to all system users to fit them into specific role hierarchy.

To assign roles to users:

  1. Click Menu > Administration > Users

  2. Select an existing user.

  3. Under Role drop-down, select desired role.

  4. Click Save

The following section explains what permissions you can apply to roles, what access levels can be set to permissions, and how access levels depend on the owner of the selected entity.

You can have permission to perform a number of actions to entities. The set of permissions may vary for some entities but in general they are the following:

View - A user can view the entity record details.
Create - A user can create a new entity record.
Edit - A user can edit entity records.
Delete - A user can delete an entity record.

To specify access levels for field-level permissions, click + to the left of the entity name. Click on the arrow icon next to the required permission, and select the access level from the list. Read more on how to enable field-level permissions in the Apply Permissions to Entity Fields topic.

Enable Users to See Restricted Fields
You can enable users to modify only certain entity fields and restrict them from modifying others. For example, you can enable sales managers to modify opportunity statuses, but restrict sales representatives to only viewing them with no permissions to update statuses in any way. Fields disabled for editing will appear dimmed on the interface.

  1. You can associate multiple users with the same role.

  2. Only the admin users have the privilege to access settings page and to add new users in BLDR.

Questions

Have a question or other pressing issue? Send us a chat.

Did this answer your question?